Browsing Duty Free

No I haven’t had the good fortune to be marooned on my favourite island for over a month – sadly my island time lasted just a little over a week.  My blogging or lack-0f, due only to my obsession at the first sign of spring to madly clean everything in sight!

I did return though lightly tanned, well rested and just a few kilos heavier than I left, due in no small part to fantastic weather, wonderfully chilled-out staff and a chef I could almost have swapped my nearest and dearest for. (He never reads my blogs!!).

One of my favourite things about international travel is time to browse duty free, although if nearest and dearest is booking it’s more of a dash and grab. I’m sure he has his reasons for booking connecting flights so close together but I do come with a list and for once, (almost) didnt deviate.

Elie Saab Le Parfum edt…this is the guy that is rumoured to be designing Jessica Biel’s wedding gown for her upcoming nuptials to JT. I will probably never have in my possession one of his gorgeous creations but I do have and love his signature perfume. The edt is his summer version of the original and although a little lighter, this floral/musk has the compliments flowing regularly. Purchase No. 1.

Coco Noir…due to the judicious sales pitch of the SA I left with Chanel’s latest Noir not my favourite Coco. Feeling a tad disloyal and blaming said SA, it wasn’t instant love for me. I was however seduced by the elegant black and gold bottle and although this is marketed as a  mysterious oriental, it is on the lighter shade of dark.  More soft than sumptuous, Noir was the perfect companion for balmy Fiji nights.  Mademoiselle Chanel would approve.

Lancome Teint Miracle…Kate Middleton’s wedding foundation deserves all the accolades it gets.  On a quest to find the perfect foundation for eldest daughter with very fine, sensitive skin, this beauty really does deliver a royal glow, doesn’t clog pores and manages to keep shine at bay most of the day.

On to the MAC Counter…given that short of super-glueing lipstick to my lips, nothing seems to last past the first lick, MAC’s Prep and Prime Lip Conditioner has been on my list of must-tries for some time. Fourth purchase done and about to walk away and the lure of yet another perfect gloss had me handing over the credit car once more. The perfect nudey pink gloss for grown up gals was set to accompany me to Fiji. Verdict…Prep and Prime is great on it’s own as a balm and as a kick-butt for feathering and bleeding.  And my latest obsession, MAC Pro Longwear Lipglass in Show Me! the perfect reason to almost always deviate from my list!!

Leave a Reply

