Damn rosacea

Perfect skin was something that a few of my genetically blessed friends possessed..the rest of us battled through the minefield that constitutes the teenage years, wearing with pride bright blue eyeshadow, enough rouge to look like we were auditioning for the circus and to wipeout the wicked pimples, foundation, foundation and more foundation!!

The more settled thirties and a  pared back approach to beauty then heralded the arrival of the dreaded wrinkle and the beginning of my cosmeceutical obsession. But it was in my late forties while lying back and relishing my good fortune to be enjoying a weekend at a luxury resort, that the rather serious therapist  announced that my lovely red flushed face was in fact rosacea.   Being told to swap wine for water, science for nature and that there was no cure put this beauty obsessive into cyber-space. Google rosacea and sufferers the world over, all sharing and caring, have loads of advice. My quest began with a visit to a derm and a three month prescription of doxy. My skin cleared but make-up free,  still looked like I was having a bad-blusher day!!

And so my decade journey with cosmeceuticals came to an abrupt end and I started navigating  the natural route.

Baby steps…

Changing my cleansing lotion and scrub to comfort zone’sacred nature has made a huge improvement. With  homage to high-end luxury (big tick) this eco-certified Italian spa brand promises protection with results.

Currently in my bathroom…

sacred nature bio-certified cleansing milk.

Smelling like almonds this delicate cleansing milk with buriti oil for antioxidant defence, butterfly bush extract for DNA cellular protection and shea butter and jojoba oils for nourishing, does a splendid job of taking off my makeup and leaving my skin soft and balanced.

Twice-weekly treat…

sacred nature bio-certified gommage

A creamy delicate scrub with jojoba particles – the hardest thing about this is sticking to my twice-weekly date. Instantly smoothing this is the first scrub in a long while  not to leave me red and irritated.

sacred nature

Flirting with….

Trilogy rosehip oil antioxidant+

This cult kiwi-brand product just got better with the addition of super-duper antioxidants.  As I have an oily t-zone are limiting to after dark , both alone and combined with my fav nightcream (more on that later). Early days but the future is looking bright (maybe not the right word for a rosacea sufferer).  Will up-date later.

Trilogy Rosehip

Leave a Reply

