Aloha

 I love the start of winter giving me the perfect excuse to snuggle up in front of the fire, light my scented candles,  bring out my favourite cookbooks and temporarily say farewell to my lovely waxer (Yah!!).  But lately I’ve been feeling just a  bit blah  after a dose of the flu and decided the perfect antidote was to find a bit of summer lovin.  So it was with fond memories of beautiful Pacific beaches, scented frangipani and the laid-back “Aloha” feeling, that I entered the sanctuary of Oasis Spa  in my home town. 

My therapist for the day was a trained nurse with over ten years experience in Hawaiian or Lomi Lomi and Ka Huna massage, as it is also known. Able to tailormake a massage to suit the client, she asked the necessary questions and established my main concern was “sleep” or lack of it.

It was onto the warm bed from there. To the soothing sounds of the ocean and the smell of coconut,  I spent the next 90 minutes in Denise’s “loving hands”.    

In the Hawaiian tradition she uses her fingers and  hands, forearms and elbows  in a “rub and roll” technique. Hot stones are placed along the back bringing a sense of warmth and total relaxation.     

You are encouraged throughout to focus on breathing, inhaling fresh breath and exhaling all negative thoughts and tension. The hardest part was staying awake to do this.

 Although this was a pure pleasure treatment  it also promised the release of stress and tension, bringing the body back into balance. She focused on parts that were sore and with the addition of Reiki, a hands-on treatment to promote self-healing, managed to gently knead and soften  some pretty big knots.    

Virgin Coconut Oil is used throughout the treatment and while hydrating and soothing my parched winter skin instantly, the best part was that it  remained that way for days.

I floated out of Oasis, body and mind calmed and slept that night like a baby. Roll on summer!

Lomi Lomi Massage

Leave a Reply

